Project

General

Profile

Design/UX #4209

Make visibility option changes immediately visible

Added by Samantha Raddatz over 6 years ago. Updated almost 6 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority name:
Normal
Assignee:
Category name:
Public Portfolio
Target version:
Start date:
2015-06-25
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

The option for who can see each field does not actually change until the user clicks ‘Save Changes’ at the bottom of the page. The user cannot see the effect of his/her actions unless he/she clicks ‘Save Changes’ after every single edit. This could prompt the user to take the same action multiple times unnecessarily.

Clicking one of the radio buttons closes the list, and should also change the bolded pink text so the user can see the changes were registered. The user still cannot navigate away from the page until clicking ‘Save Changes’ at the top or bottom of the page.

7edit_visibility.png (663 KB) 7edit_visibility.png see 3.3, circled Samantha Raddatz, 2015-06-25 10:22 AM
Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 6.28.35 PM.png (54.1 KB) Screen Shot 2015-11-10 at 6.28.35 PM.png Samantha Raddatz, 2015-11-10 06:31 PM

History

#1 Updated by Boone Gorges over 6 years ago

  • Category name changed from User Experience to Public Portfolio
  • Status changed from New to Assigned
  • Target version set to 1.9

Looks like this should have been fixed in https://buddypress.trac.wordpress.org/ticket/5896. It's probably due to some weirdness in cac-advanced-profiles. I will have a look.

#3 Updated by Samantha Raddatz almost 6 years ago

Works great, thanks, Boone!

Can I add an annoying request to update the 'confirm navigation' pop-up here to be more specific? Like ' You have unsaved changes to your profile. Are you sure you want to leave this page?' Now that we've given nice feedback about changes it's more likely people will assume they're saved when they aren't so I want to be clear.

Attached is the current confirmation pop-up.

#4 Updated by Boone Gorges almost 6 years ago

Hi Sam - Could you please open a separate ticket for changing the confirmation dialog? The text in the dialog is the native text from the browser, which BP uses without modification. It's a non-trivial amount of work to build our own, so I'd prefer not to do it for this release.

Also available in: Atom PDF