Project

General

Profile

Feature #11451

'Send to group' checkbox should remain unchecked for saved draft posts

Added by Gina Cherry 3 months ago. Updated about 2 months ago.

Status:
Reporter Feedback
Priority name:
Normal
Assignee:
Category name:
Group Blogs
Target version:
Start date:
2019-05-13
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

1. If I uncheck the "Send to group" box and then save the blog post, my selection is not saved - the box gets checked again.

2. I unchecked the box and published the post, but it was sent to the group anyway.

History

#1 Updated by Boone Gorges 3 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Reporter Feedback

Thanks, Gina.

It's hard to know without more details, but 1 is likely not a bug. The idea is that 'Send to Group' is the default behavior. If you don't want to do it, you must actively uncheck the box. When you say "save the blog post", I assume you mean that you're drafting the item, and then you click Save Draft. Is this correct? Once the blog post is published, you should no longer see the Send to Group checkbox at all.

Regarding 2, can you please share more information? Please share a URL to the blog post in question, and let me know exactly what you mean by "it was sent to the group" means. Does this mean that subscribed members of the group received an email notification along the lines of "Gina published a new blog post..."? If so, can you please provide the email, either as a screenshot or an attachment, so that I can verify exactly where the email came from? This is important, because you may have some configuration on your site that causes other kinds of email notifications to be sent, which are not covered by this checkbox.

#2 Updated by Gina Cherry 3 months ago

Thanks, Boone.

For the #1, I understand that "send to group" is the default behavior. It's just that once I uncheck the box, I expect that choice to be saved, even if I save a draft of the post, just like categories are saved when I check or uncheck them.

Regarding #2, I misspoke. When I published the post, I saw a message at the top of the page that said "Post published and sending emails to subscribers:" https://screencast.com/t/ADOcuBfwwywB. That led me to believe that subscribers would receive an email notification. I did receive a notification, but it was from our dev site (I normally receive two notifications of new posts - one from the live site and one from the dev site). So it's not really a bug, but perhaps an interface issue.

#3 Updated by Boone Gorges 3 months ago

Thanks very much for the explanation and especially the screenshot, Gina.

The "Post published and sending emails to subscribers" message comes from Jetpack, and is related to its Subscriptions module. The "Send to group" checkbox is NOT related to this functionality. Instead, 'Send to group' affects whether members of the linked Commons group will receive emails in accordance with their group subscription settings (All Mail, Daily Digest, etc). Here's more info about that module: https://jetpack.com/support/subscriptions/ It appears that there may be a way for us to expose a per-post toggle for Jetpack Subscriptions; see https://jetpack.com/2016/02/10/hook-month-control-subscriptions/ Gina, do you think this would be helpful? (CCing Sonja - I'd like her thoughts on whether this adds too much confusion to enable throughout the Commons)

Regarding the checkbox, I definitely understand your intuition. The 'Send to group' checkbox really indicates a property of the publication action, not of the post more generally. I'm not sure how to change the UI to make this clearer. Maybe Sonja has thoughts about it.

#4 Updated by Gina Cherry 3 months ago

Thanks for this explanation. The odd thing is that I don't recall seeing the Jetpack "sending email to subscribers" message before, which is why I connected it to the "send to group" feature. I don't think a per post toggle for Jetpack subscriptions is necessary for my site, though it's possible that others would find it useful.

I don't know if there's any way to display the "send to group" checkbox next to the Publish button, but that would make it clearer. Since it's in a separate module and users can control their own displays, it's possible that it would not appear anywhere near the Publish button the way it is currently implemented.

#5 Updated by Sonja Leix 3 months ago

Boone Gorges wrote:

Regarding the checkbox, I definitely understand your intuition. The 'Send to group' checkbox really indicates a property of the publication action, not of the post more generally. I'm not sure how to change the UI to make this clearer. Maybe Sonja has thoughts about it.

I'll take a look at this. For context: This option only shows up on Group Sites when crafting a new blog post, correct?

Boone,
can you share the general difference and type of email notifications a user would receive through the Jetpack Subscription functionality and this piece of custom functionality? I want to make sure I fully understand this before replying with a proposed solution. "Send to group" from what I remember means sending a notification email to the group members of an associated site when an author publishes a new post and this checkbox is checked?

#6 Updated by Boone Gorges 3 months ago

I'll take a look at this. For context: This option only shows up on Group Sites when crafting a new blog post, correct?

That's correct.

"Send to group" from what I remember means sending a notification email to the group members of an associated site when an author publishes a new post and this checkbox is checked?

That's right. I'm not totally familiar with how Jetpack notifications work, but those are separate emails that would be formatted like wordpress.com notifications. Jetpack subscriptions are not linked to site or Commons membership - it's a self-service signup mailing list.

#7 Updated by Boone Gorges 3 months ago

  • Assignee set to Sonja Leix
  • Target version set to 1.16

Placing in a milestone just so the ticket doesn't get lost.

#8 Updated by Sonja Leix 2 months ago

I've taken a look at this UI and am attaching a screenshot of the current UI in question.

To me, the copy in the box is pretty clear in describing what this control does. The issue seems to lie with the unchecking of the box isn't saved when a user is saving a draft of a post.
Boone, is there a way to retain the state up until publication of the post (which is when the box disappears as I understand)? The option in question is placed right above the publishing box in the right sidebar, which gives it a pretty prominent placement – which works for me.

It seems retaining the state (checked or unchecked) would solve the issue Gina was describing.

#9 Updated by Boone Gorges about 2 months ago

  • Tracker changed from Bug to Feature
  • Subject changed from Two bugs with new send to group feature for blog posts to 'Send to group' checkbox should remain unchecked for saved draft posts
  • Category name set to Group Blogs
  • Assignee changed from Sonja Leix to Boone Gorges

Thanks, Sonja. I'll take a look at retaining the unchecked state for 1.16.

Also available in: Atom PDF