Project

General

Profile

Bug #13068

Deleted groups appearing in courses list

Added by Laurie Hurson over 1 year ago. Updated over 1 year ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority name:
Normal
Assignee:
Category name:
Courses
Target version:
Start date:
2020-07-20
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

Hi All,

Marilyn was working with a faculty member on creating a group called "poets together".

Several private groups were created and have since been deleted but they still appear in the courses list. See here: https://commons.gc.cuny.edu/courses/?filters%5Bkeyword%5D=poets&order-by=semester

The only "poets together" group that should exist is the public group with working link.

Can the listings for the other, private "poets together" groups be removed/deleted from the courses tab?

Thanks!

History

#1 Updated by Boone Gorges over 1 year ago

  • Category name set to Courses
  • Status changed from New to Assigned
  • Assignee set to Boone Gorges
  • Target version set to 1.17.1

Done.

I'm going to pin this to the 1.17.1 milestone, so that I can make this process automated. Namely, when a group or site is deleted, if it's associated with a Course, and the Course has no other groups or sites associated with it, trash the Course as well.

#2 Updated by Laurie Hurson over 1 year ago

That sounds great. Thanks Boone!

#3 Updated by Marilyn Weber over 1 year ago

Thanks to you both! This is really helpful.

Boone, if you'd like to give me editing powers on the courses page I'd be happy to help. But I also can see if you'd want to keep the circle small.

#4 Updated by Boone Gorges over 1 year ago

Thanks, Marilyn! The Course editing interface is a bit flaky, so I'm going to keep the circle small for now. If this becomes a more common occurrence, I'll see what I can do about granting you access.

#5 Updated by Boone Gorges over 1 year ago

  • Target version changed from 1.17.1 to 1.17.2

#6 Updated by Boone Gorges over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Assigned to Staged for Production Release

I've implemented this in https://github.com/cuny-academic-commons/cac-courses/commit/a26961075cc2aca7bf43efd11ac6e926ad90cd95. When you delete a Site that's associated with a Course, we check to see whether the Course has any other associated items (Groups, or other Sites). If no, the Course is trashed. If yes, the deleted Site is removed from the association with the Course. Mutatis mutandis for Groups.

#7 Updated by Boone Gorges over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Staged for Production Release to Resolved

Also available in: Atom PDF