Project

General

Profile

Bug #266

Account Deletion Process

Added by Matt Gold over 11 years ago. Updated over 11 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority name:
Normal
Assignee:
Category name:
BuddyPress (misc)
Target version:
Start date:
2010-07-01
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

A user reports that he tried to delete his account but that the deletion didn't occur. I don't know exactly what process he followed, but I do note two things:

1. All of his blogs are gone, which says to me that he deleted his WP account but not his BP profile, which is still there.

2. The directions here -- http://commons.gc.cuny.edu/wiki/index.php/FAQ#How_Do_I_Delete_My_Account.3F -- are no longer valid, as there is no longer a "Delete Account" option under "My Settings" in the newer version of BP. I can't find a "Delete Account" option anywhere else.

I can delete his account for him, but there should be a clear way for users to delete their accounts.

History

#1 Updated by Matt Gold over 11 years ago

Follow up: the member requested immediate account deletion, so I tried to use admin privileges to delete the account from the BP Admin Bar (Admin > Delete [Username}). Although I received a message confirming the deletion, the account still showed up, even after a hard refresh. So, I went to the Dashboard and found the user account, which was still there, and deleted it through the Users interface. That seemed to work. Not sure why the previous attempt didn't.

#2 Updated by Boone Gorges over 11 years ago

  • Status changed from Assigned to 3

This is a bug in our version of BuddyPress, which has been fixed in recent versions. I've applied a patch to our BP core in rev 7b25168.

#3 Updated by Boone Gorges over 11 years ago

  • Target version set to 1.0.1

#4 Updated by Boone Gorges over 11 years ago

  • Status changed from 3 to Resolved

Also available in: Atom PDF