Site Creation - additional Privacy Settings
Additional privacy settings are generated during site creation process when no site domain and site title are entered.
If you leave site domain and title blank or there is an issue with naming conventions (any privacy setting selected) and Click "Create site" you are sent to a new page with error message and must re-do. (screen 1)
However on this new page, new privacy settings are available "Privacy: I would like my site to appear in search engines, and in public listings around this network" [Buttons Yes -- No]" (screen 2)
Additional privacy settings are confusing and unnecessary. Furthermore, if a user then selects "No" (as is the case with "https://unionsfall17.commons.gc.cuny.edu/") the site is rendered unsearchable on the Commons and cannot be found.
#1 Updated by Boone Gorges over 4 years ago
- Category name set to Blogs (BuddyPress)
- Status changed from New to Staged for Production Release
- Target version set to 1.11.14
Thanks for the report and for the screenshots, Laurie.
It looks like we are inconsistent in the way the site creation screen is rendered. Normally, our custom WP theme is responsible for rendering it. But a peculiarity of BuddyPress means that, after an error, BuddyPress itself renders the screen.
Refactoring the site creation screen to avoid this problem looks like it will be quite complicated. As a workaround, I've put a styling fix into place that will prevent the duplicate settings UI from appearing. https://github.com/cuny-academic-commons/cac/commit/f1f1d687cb77c70290b3b12d1b29b64f8004826f This will be live on the Commons after our Oct 1 release.