Project

General

Profile

Bug #13982

Clone warning box on new Group + Site Creation

Added by Colin McDonald 9 months ago. Updated 8 months ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority name:
Normal
Assignee:
Category name:
Group cloning
Target version:
Start date:
2021-02-11
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

See attached screencast, going through the new Group + Site workflow today I noticed that at the end of the Site creation screen was the yellow warning box about cloned content, even though I wasn't cloning anything (indeed, I was helping a brand-new user, who had never been an admin or creator of a group or site previously).

Also, why on the Site step didn't I have the Site Layout section to apply a Teaching or other template?

group-site-clone-message-error.mov (74.8 MB) group-site-clone-message-error.mov Colin McDonald, 2021-02-11 11:01 AM

History

#1 Updated by Colin McDonald 9 months ago

And there isn't a way to apply the teaching template to a Site if you don't do it during the Creation flow, right?

#2 Updated by Boone Gorges 9 months ago

  • Category name set to Group cloning
  • Target version set to 1.18.5

Both of these issues sound like they might have a root cause: something in the group creation process is being fooled into thinking that there's a clone taking place, when in fact there is none. (The Layout section doesn't appear if you're cloning.) Jeremy, could you please try to reproduce this and let us know what you think?

#3 Updated by Boone Gorges 9 months ago

  • Assignee changed from Boone Gorges to Jeremy Felt

#4 Updated by Jeremy Felt 8 months ago

I was helping a brand-new user, who had never been an admin or creator of a group or site previously

This was the key. I had written some buggy logic that showed a specific interface to users who were already administrators of existing sites, but failed to better account for users who were brand-new.

The fix in https://github.com/cuny-academic-commons/cac/pull/9 ensures the cloning related UI bits don't show up when a clone isn't possible.

#5 Updated by Boone Gorges 8 months ago

  • Status changed from New to Staged for Production Release

Ah, this explains why I couldn't reproduce - I didn't test with the new user. I've merged this change and deployed it to cdev, in case Colin would like to review before next week's release.

#6 Updated by Colin McDonald 8 months ago

Thanks all! I think it would take some doing for me to test on cdev, as I'd need a fresh cdev account allowing for the new logic for new users that Jeremy mentions. Right? I can trust that we've got it, unless it isn't a big deal to get me a burner fresh cdev account.

#7 Updated by Boone Gorges 8 months ago

Seems good to me to trust it :)

#8 Updated by Boone Gorges 8 months ago

  • Status changed from Staged for Production Release to Resolved

Also available in: Atom PDF