Project

General

Profile

Bug #646

Change Error Message Non Logged-In Users See When Authorized Page is Requested Without Login

Added by Matt Gold about 11 years ago. Updated about 11 years ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority name:
Low
Assignee:
Category name:
BuddyPress (misc)
Target version:
Start date:
2011-03-21
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

I received notification of a document uploaded to a private group, but I was not logged in to the Commons when I clicked on the link to download the document directly. The attached screenshot shows what I saw -- red box telling me that I need to log in.

What I'd suggest instead is a log-in box rather than an error message, one that would take users to the requested file/page after log in. I have the sense that that's what used to happen. Am I wrong about that?


Related issues

Related to CUNY Academic Commons - Feature #227: Redirect to Login Page when Authorized page is requested without LoginResolved2010-05-08

History

#1 Updated by Boone Gorges about 11 years ago

  • Status changed from Assigned to Rejected

The attached screenshot shows what I saw -- red box telling me that I need to log in.

Screenshot?

What I'd suggest instead is a log-in box rather than an error message, one that would take users to the requested file/page after log in. I have the sense that that's what used to happen. Am I wrong about that?

Yes, you're wrong. It was never like this. It's a good suggestion, but complicated. See #227

#2 Updated by Matt Gold about 11 years ago

re: the screenshot: oops. It's now attached.

It's too bad that we can't really change this, but I'm hoping that the error message can be made more informative.

I have two suggestions for that:

1. The words "log into the site" should be linked to the log-in page

2. "try again" can be changed to something more specific -- perhaps "try to access (echo link user clicked to get to this page).

#2 would have the benefit of giving users more information about what they clicked to get there; they could even log in and then hit the back browser button, reload, and click on the link.

What do you think?

#3 Updated by Boone Gorges about 11 years ago

  • Status changed from Assigned to Resolved
  • Priority name changed from Normal to Low

This required rewriting a good portion of the 'forbidden' code, as BP error messages do not support HTML. Fixed in https://github.com/castiron/cac/commit/3bbab8279c9bacd29d917c0d5951b6328335c14a

Also available in: Atom PDF