Project

General

Profile

Bug #14738

unclear language during group/site clone

Added by Matt Gold about 2 months ago. Updated about 1 month ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority name:
Normal
Assignee:
Category name:
Group cloning
Target version:
Start date:
2021-08-31
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

I find the language on the final step of the group/site cloning process to be unclear. If that button is supposed to take people to their sites/groups so that they can continue to finalize their appearance, etc, I'd suggest the following:

current language: "Clean up your cloned Group + Site"

proposed language: "Visit and customize your cloned Group + Site"

or something like that. "clean up" just sounds a bit strange

History

#1 Updated by Boone Gorges about 2 months ago

  • Category name set to Group cloning
  • Assignee changed from Boone Gorges to Jeremy Felt
  • Target version set to 1.18.18

Jeremy, could you please make the change to Matt's suggestion?

#2 Updated by Colin McDonald about 2 months ago

I'm want to make sure we match the language with where the button is directing you, once #14735 is resolved and it goes to the help documentation on cleaning up a cloned group:

https://help.commons.gc.cuny.edu/clean-up-after-group-cloning/

So with that link it's not taking you to visit or customize, and I believe it's the same button whether you're just doing a group or if you're doing a Group + Site but need to confirm.

What about something like "Learn how to clean up your cloned Group" instead?

#3 Updated by Boone Gorges about 2 months ago

I like the 'Learn' language - the link is to documentation.

Can I get someone to sign off on final language?

#4 Updated by Matt Gold about 2 months ago

I still prefer "customize" to "clean up," as the latter sounds like there is something wrong/messy that needs to be fixed. So I would propose:

"Learn how to customize your cloned [Group/Group + Site/Site]"

#5 Updated by Matt Gold about 2 months ago

Sorry -- I'm now reading through the other ticket and now understand why it is "clean up" rather than "customize." I still don't like "clean up"; does anyone have ideas for alternatives? "Check and finalize"?

#6 Updated by Colin McDonald about 2 months ago

What about this: "Follow this post-cloning checklist to finish setting up your group."

#7 Updated by Matt Gold about 2 months ago

that works for me. thanks, Colin

#8 Updated by Boone Gorges about 1 month ago

  • Status changed from Assigned to Staged for Production Release

#9 Updated by Boone Gorges about 1 month ago

  • Status changed from Staged for Production Release to Resolved

Also available in: Atom PDF