Project

General

Profile

Actions

Bug #16306

closed

Confusing messaging on send message page

Added by Matt Gold about 2 months ago. Updated about 1 month ago.

Status:
Resolved
Priority name:
Normal
Assignee:
Category name:
Messages
Target version:
Start date:
2022-06-27
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

I was sending a message to someone on the Commons and thought the "content will be discarded" tip was strangely placed. I was wondering whether that was meant to show up as a pop-up if someone clicked "cancel"?

screenshot attached


Files

Screen Shot 2022-06-27 at 6.06.54 PM.png (40.6 KB) Screen Shot 2022-06-27 at 6.06.54 PM.png Matt Gold, 2022-06-27 06:09 PM
cancel.gif (69.6 KB) cancel.gif Raymond Hoh, 2022-06-27 08:08 PM

Related issues

Related to CUNY Academic Commons - Design/UX #4395: Option to cancel New MessageResolvedDaniel Jones2015-08-06

Actions
Actions #1

Updated by Raymond Hoh about 2 months ago

Actions #2

Updated by Raymond Hoh about 2 months ago

  • File cancel.gif cancel.gif added
  • Assignee changed from Boone Gorges to Raymond Hoh
  • Target version set to 2.0.2

The "Content will be discarded" text should be hidden by default. Looks like the "Cancel" link functionality is broken.

I fixed the "Cancel" functionality by enqueueing the necesssary jquery-ui-dialog JS scripts locally, but the styling was off and the dialog would not center and stay fixed on the screen.

I decided to switch out jQuery UI Dialog for jQuery Confirm: https://craftpip.github.io/jquery-confirm/ and the Cancel functionality now looks like this:

Let me know what you think and whether the prompt needs some additional styling or some copy changes before the next maintenance release.

Actions #3

Updated by Raymond Hoh about 2 months ago

  • Status changed from Assigned to Staged for Production Release
Actions #4

Updated by Boone Gorges about 1 month ago

  • Status changed from Staged for Production Release to Resolved
Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF