Project

General

Profile

Feature #3517

Mute/Unmute My Commons updates

Added by Matt Gold about 7 years ago. Updated about 6 years ago.

Status:
Assigned
Priority name:
Normal
Assignee:
Category name:
My Commons
Target version:
Start date:
2014-10-01
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:

Description

Per ticket #3510, the new My Commons feature will make friendship matter more, since it will determine what people see in their timelines. Unfriending or not accepting a friend request may be awkward, though, and we want to encourage friendship. So maybe we should enable a mute/unmute button on the MyCommons page that will prevent/allow updates from a user's activity to show up in another user's timeline on the MyCommons view.

History

#1 Updated by Raymond Hoh about 7 years ago

Boone was talking about v1.8 today so I'm going through some tickets and adding some info.

I'd be interested in taking this on as I created a ticket on BP for member blocking:
https://buddypress.trac.wordpress.org/ticket/5665

I understand that muting is different, but the concept is almost the same.

FYI, this is how Twitter differentiates between muting and blocking:
https://support.twitter.com/articles/20171399-muting-users-on-twitter
https://support.twitter.com/articles/117063-blocking-users-on-twitter

There has been some talk of a new relationships DB table being introduced into BP core for v2.2, which would help to store the member muting info. However, I could build a mute plugin as an addon plugin to the BP Follow plugin, since BP Follow already has a suitable DB schema required to do this.

#2 Updated by Matt Gold about 7 years ago

Sounds good, Ray. Many thanks. We definitely want muting and not blocking.

#3 Updated by Boone Gorges over 6 years ago

  • Assignee changed from Boone Gorges to Samantha Raddatz
  • Target version changed from 1.8 to 1.9

I don't think we'll have time to do the necessary UX work for 1.8. I'll put it into 1.9 for now, but before starting development on this feature, I think we need to talk about what we're trying to accomplish from the user's point of view. If you "mute" something, does it disappear, or is it just minimized somehow? If it disappears, how do you ever get it back?

#4 Updated by Samantha Raddatz over 6 years ago

I think we would want to follow the Twitter model that Ray is describing (rather than the Facebook 'unfollow' option). So, if a user 'mute's someone on their My Commons feed, they would no longer appear there, but within their friends list -- both in the People tab and in their profile -- they would be able to see who they have 'muted' with an option to 'unmute'.

We could consider extending this to Groups appearing in My Commons as well. That may set a precedent that it should be included for Sites, which would be confusing in addition to 'follow/unfollow'.

#5 Updated by Boone Gorges about 6 years ago

  • Assignee changed from Samantha Raddatz to Raymond Hoh
  • Target version changed from 1.9 to Future release

This is closely related to some concerns raised with respect to Social Paper. We may want to consider solving this, at least in part, at the level of buddypress-followers.

Our lack of a relationships table might be a dealbreaker, though.

Also available in: Atom PDF